GWSPH Office of Research Excellence

Leadership and Administration

Service leadership is the guiding principle of the Milken Institute School of Public Health Office of Research Excellence—we strive for high quality and high efficiency in the preparation and submission of our grant applications across departments and investigators. Our team assists investigators in identifying funding opportunities, formulating research agendas, and fine-tuning grantsmanship, including internal and external review mechanisms. New faculty research development series and innovative new pilot programs are slated for launch in 2013-2014 academic year. Our overriding purpose is to deliver a well-designed and flexible research infrastructure that stimulates productivity and encourages research synergy not only across our Milken Institute School of Public Health departments, but across disciplines throughout GW. Milken Institute School of Public Health research is on the rise!

The office is led by the Associate Dean for Research, Kimberly Horn, EdD. For more information, email

Administration and Operations Team

Laura Davis, Senior Research Operations Director

Theresa Chapman, Pre-Awards Grants Specialist

Marilet Leano, Pre-Awards Grants Specialist

Milken Institute School of Public Health Research Committee membership list

Malhia Ali, Doctoral Student Representative

Heather Hussey, Doctoral Student Representative

Leighton Ku, PhD, Department of Health Policy and Management

Irene Kuo, PhD, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Lance Price, PhD, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health (Committee Chair)

Kimberly Robien, PhD, Department of Exercise Science

John Sandberg, PhD, Department of Global Health

Cherise Harrington, PhD, Department of Prevention and Community Health